Sailing to Tulsa

When it rains it pours and opens doors
And floods the floors we thought would always keep us safe and dry
And in the midst of sailing ships we sink our lips into the ones we love
That have to say goodbye

As I return to Tulsa with the unwanted feeling of leaving something behind in the place I was escaping, When I look into the Sky by Train flowed through the speakers in my car. Traveling with two cars packed with boxes and bags full of clothes and unneeded accessories that will sit on the floor of my room for the next few weeks, I couldn’t help but wonder what I would be going back to.

Our successes pulled us apart and new friends replaced the old ones, but yet the summers bring us back to the places that we started. And as I left the place that caused me so much pain and angst, I say goodbye to the ones who made it worthwhile. Tears of happy and sad trickled down my face and I was gone before we could formally say goodbye. We knew we would see each other again, in a new place but with the same old problems that we’ve faced for the past two years.

In Tulsa, home, is the joy of my life, my sister. She is seven years younger than me and the happiest, most creative person I know. I look forward to spending the summer with her. On top of that, my summer internship starts almost as soon as I get back. I’ll be working in a different side of town than I live on. I’m excited to see a new place and new faces. I’m going to miss the ones I left behind but I can’t wait for what awaits me.

Leave a Reply

